Chow!

Standard

Life has gotten in the way of blogging lately.  So hopefully things will return to normal and I can start taking some more train trips for you.  Ok, who am I kidding…life never returns to normal.  Normal would be weird.  Patrick, my oldest,  started college today.  I know! Late start, huh?  First day of the rest of his career.  He will walk past that French Market in Chicago everyday now.  Maybe I will get lucky and get an item delivered once in a while.

This trip is also centered around food.  Big surprise, I know.  Some days I just can’t seem to think about it enough.  I have been wanting to take another “short” trip, so today was the day.  The name of the destination on this trip was just what the doctor ordered.  It is called CHOW and it is located just south of the Elmhurst Metra station.  If you are lucky enough to live close by or you have a college student in Elmhurst, give it a whirl…or if you don’t mind a short trip of your own, it is worth it.  The people who own CHOW are genius because it is THE perfect location for a commuter stop before or after work …(or if you live in Wheaton and love food very much).

http://www.chowtogo.com/

The shop was cozy and the employees were friendly and very willing to answer questions.  I talked for a few moments to the Chef and he was personable and seemed to love his job.  The food looked seasonally spectacular and not just because I was hungry, either.  The Baked Butternut Squash stuffed with granola and dried fruit was very tempting, but I had to plan ahead for my choosy family for dinner.  I went with the Crispy Panko Chicken which would go with our spaghetti tonight for a delicious Chicken Parmesan.


Lauren, the gal assisting me, was helpful in letting me know the best way to warm the chicken to keep it crispy and just warm enough instead of recooking it since everything is ready to go.

I then had to buy the frosted almond cookies for dessert.  The creamy Pumpkin Hummus and pasta salad were my choices for lunch.  I like hummus.  I don’t usually love hummus.  I generally like it mainly because it is better for me than regular dips, but I REALLY loved this pumpkin hummus simply because it was SO good.  It tastes like a pumpkin pie dip.  I ate it with pretzel chips.

SO GOOD.

Must.get.more.

Get a load of these pictures!!

I have a thing for chalkboards.  I love them.  These were painted right on the wall.

All of this is freshly made in the store.  Even those pot pies! I was very tempted to get the roasted vegetable mix of sweet potatoes and squashes, but I stuck to the plan.  I will just have to go back.

They cater, they bake, they freeze prepared dinners …like the vegetable lasagna, salmon in puff pastry or pork tenderloin with peach compote below.

There are fresh pies to take home to bake yourself…

…and they even offer a sit down dining experience every 6 weeks.

Here is their description taken from their website…seems like a special treat to me (as if you need an excuse).

“CHOW AFTER DARK…Our latest venture! Chow ‘retail’ is transformed into Chow ‘fine dining’ for a spectacular multi-course experience. European seating accommodates up to 26 guests. Call for details and round up your friends for a truly delicious evening. Saturday evenings, every 6 weeks.”

And did I mention they bake?

Chow…it’s what’s for dinner.

The other exciting thing about my trip today is I found tons of other places to travel to in downtown Elmhurst.  Great little downtown.  I also was eavesdropping on a family waiting for the train that were going to Glen Ellyn for lunch at a train restaurant.  So many places, so little time.  I need to keep up.  Watch for another blog soon.

Leave a Reply

