Doggie Mama

Standard

Those who knew me when, KNOW I did not like dogs.

Past tense.

I did not want dogs to touch me,
sniff me,
slobber on me,
get hair on me,
annoy me,
sit on my feet,
try to get my attention,
or win over my affection. Period.

They were annoying. And they always found me, followed me and sat looking at me. I now think they knew. They knew I didn’t like them and, just like humans, did anything to figure out why.

Last summer when my about-to-be-16 year old begged for a dog, my about-to-be-44 year old husband agreed, without even a discussion. The elated feeling that followed because said about-to-be-16 year old was so happy, turned into fear when I realized it was “I” who was getting a dog.

So I am Sadie’s “Doggie Mama”. She is attached to my side.
Where I walk, she walks
When I eat, she eats
When I sleep, she sleeps
When I use the bathroom, …she waits outside. I have my limits.

Even my 16 year old is surprised at my new found love and acceptance.  Last night when I said, “Excuse me” to Sadie, she said, “Did you just say excuse me to a dog?”  yes. yes I did.

This just goes to show that you can teach an old dog new tricks.

One response »

Leave a comment