Dipping my Toe in the Blog Water

Standard

As I sit in a new computer chair, in a new office, in a new townhouse, in a new town, I can hear the train.

For those who might not know this, we bought a townhouse in the suburbs.  We bought it for 2 reasons:

1. So that Patrick can commute easily to Chicago for college

and 2. So that Kate doesn’t have to drive an hour and 10 minutes to high school.

We didn’t want Patrick to live in the city alone and Kate had her own ideas about where she wanted to finish high school.  We know it is unconventional, but it works for us.

Our intention was to broaden their worlds, safely.   So we bought near the train for easy commuting and near the high school for easy driving …on purpose.

Intention and purpose… I know my maternal intention and purpose.  It is to  “Hold down the fort”  as they say.   And while I am holding I thought I could share my adventures with you.

With all of the “new” goings on, I feel like I am going to college too, only this time

…I am married,

…I am not deciding whether or not to do my homework,

…I am actually waking up in the morning,

…I am much older and much wiser,

…I have a dog,

…and I can hear the train.

11 responses »

  1. I sat at school today and had the thought that I am going to miss Patrick and Kate. For the past 3 years Patrick has been a part of my life as a golfer, student or frequent visitor. Wish him well for me and tell him that I will think of him and pray that he is successful every time I hear his music. Kate was a shining star in her class and Lord knows a teacher loves to have that starlight especially in a group that is particularly dim. I hope your move is wonderful for all involved.
    Chris Hankins

    • Chris, that is hands down the sweetest comment I could have received today. I am sure Patrick will not stop visiting you or bringing you cd’s. And thank you from the bottom of my heart and from both of them for the wonderful feelings you have for them. sniff.

    • Lanett! Sooo glad, I was a little nervous to press “publish”. But I have wanted to do it for a while. This just seems like the right time. Come visit. We can take the train somewhere. 🙂

  2. A little known fact – I took the train from that very station to my job in Chicago at a pharmaceutical advertising company, Sieber-MacIntyre, at 650 N. Michigan Ave. Actually I don’t remember it looking that cute – it was brick at the time. How NICE to have the city sooo accessible.

    • The interesting thing is there is a College Station and a Wheaton Station just minutes apart. It looks like this College Station is new. The “old” station is a yogurt place now.

  3. OH Maureen, we can all share your great adventure! We did the unconventional thing too, that brought us to a new place with new people. New is good, old is good too! I love coming back to Morris for mini vaycays. I will come visit soon, now that I’m an empty nester of sorts.

  4. Maureen,
    You crack me up girl! It seems like just yesterday you were thinking about moving to Wheaton and now you are there. What a fun and exciting time for you and your family and hope it all goes well. I will be seeing you on Tuesdays at least. Take care and keep in touch.

Leave a Reply

